Beauty · Life · lifestyle · Makeup · Uncategorized

5 Things I Wish I Knew Before Getting Into Makeup

There are a ton of things that I wish I knew before getting into makeup. Honestly, if I knew half of the things that I do now.. I probably wouldn’t even be as big into makeup as I am. Which is saying a lot.. Here are 5 things I wish I knew before getting into makeup:

It’s Expensive!

When you first start out you are going to stay with Covergirl and your girl Maybelline. But let me just tell you, when you get suckered into Sephora and trying their products you will not want to go back to drug-store bands! No Joke.. Before you know it, You will have a jewelry armoire with over 1,000 dollars in it filled with makeup! I actually had to set a dollar limit for myself each month.Which is $150 USD a month. Which allows me to get a new palette and an extra thing or two of makeup if I want a palette that month. Here is my thinking, if I just set my limit at $50 USD that wouldn’t even allow me to buy a Naked Palette. I could probably get something off the clearance rack or off the travel sized things in front of the registers. I just feel like you can’t just spend $50 or $100 USD a month. I mean, I’m sure that some people could. But I definitely cannot!

No Space!

You will continue buying makeup and you will one day realize that you do not have room for anything anymore! I just went out and bought a jewelry armoire for my makeup things. And I still don’t think it’s big enough… *sad face*

It’s Complex!

A lot of people have a simple mind when it comes to makeup. They slap on some eyeliner and mascara (maybe some foundation) then they can leave the house. But when you get into all the complicated things, such as contour and highlight and lipstick, you will not want to leave your house unless you have highlighted your cheekbones to perfection!!

You will become a Perfectionist, if you aren’t already!

Usually the people who become addicted to makeup are perfectionists. But if you aren’t you will quickly become one when doing makeup. If one eye is darker than the other you will sit there are apply more eyeshadow to the eye that needs that shadow. If your brows are lop-sided you will take a makeup wipe and re-do your entire brow! Don’t even get me started on winged liner!!

You will plan your life around doing your makeup!

Seriously, someone will ask you to hang out for breakfast and your will be like “Well… It takes me at least an hour and a half to get ready.. So can we plan on doing a Linner thing instead?” You will find some way to work your makeup in! Even if you don’t have time for it. You. Will. Find. A. Way.

Seriously, if I would have known all this stuff. I would have just stuck with eyeliner and mascara like i did in high school… Oh well!

Follow your dreams and never give up!

XOXO,

Alicia Dawn

Also Posted on: My Trending Stories
2 thoughts on “5 Things I Wish I Knew Before Getting Into Makeup

  1. This is so true!!! Completely agree on every point ๐Ÿ˜‚ – the amount of time I sacrifice in the mornings…missing my train by a few seconds to balance out some poorly-applied eyeshadow…but hey, no regrets still – can’t go back to a world of no makeup!

    Like

Leave a Comment

