Beauty · Makeup · Review

Younique Moodstruck Minerals Pigment Powders Review

***These have now been discontinued. But I wanted to keep my review up because I really liked how the makeup turned out!!***

Hello Beautiful Butterflies!!

I hope you are having a wonderful summer and that it’s not too hot for you outside! It’s been pretty toasty here in Charleston, SC.

Anyways, enough talk of that, I have a really awesome review for you guys! And if you are like me and very curious about Younique’s cosmetic products, then look no further than here! For awhile I have seen videos all over Facebook about Younique’s 3D Fiber Lash, and I always thought it was some off brand product of an expensive fiber mascara that another company had. I also thought that Younique only had that to offer because I never heard anything about eyeshadows, lipglosses, or anything else. Boy, was I completely wrong!!

Turns out that Younique has face products, lip products, eye products, and pretty much everything in-between. To be honest, I was amazed at how many products they actually had. And thanks to Maeghan from lovemakeuplovelife I was fortunate enough to try out nine of the Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powders!

If you don’t know what pigment powders are, allow me to explain. Pigments are just like eyeshadows that are in loose powder form. There is not a binder to bind them to an eyeshadow pan, which usually dulls the eyeshadow color a bit. Without the binding to dull the products down, pigments can get very intense in color. However, you can definitely get a natural look with pigments as well.

The Moodstuck Mineral Pigment Powders also has minerals, amino acids, and vitamins for you skin. Which means there are finely milled minerals inside each of the pots to nourish the skin. No perfumes, talc, alcohol, dyes, or preservatives. Also, if you go on Younique’s website you can find everything that is in the pigments, what could be in the pigments, where the minerals are found, and how it helps the pigments/your skin.

(example: Zinc Oxide is an inert earth mineral with many benefits for the skin. It controls oiliness and regulates shine. It’s also antiperspirants, anti-irritant, and soothing to the skin.)

IMG_20150408_170047 IMG_20150408_165946

The Younique Moodstuck Mineral Pigment Powders have 32 colors; 16 mattes and 16 shimmery. Not only do you get neutral shades, but you also get fun colors! Thanks to Maeghan I got to test nine of the 32 colors: Devious (Black Shimmer), Flirty (Light Purple Shimmer), Empowered (Light Green-Gold Shimmer), Royal (Purple Shimmer), Sexy, (Pale Peach Shimmer), Irresistable (Dark Brown Matte), Beautiful (Light Brown Matte), Vulnerable (Pink Matte), Crushed (Green Matte). Maeghan sent me little samples of the eyeshadows in cute little baggies just so I could try them out. And I just have to note that I received them from her the beginning of May. I have used them a lot and I don’t think I will be able to empty the bags until September. And that’s just a little bit of product to test out. I’m sure buying the whole pot would take forever for one to run out!

DSC_0743
This is the Younique Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powder applied with a wet brush (water). Eyeliner is a Tarte felt tip liner.

The Younique Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powders can be applied wet for an intense color application, or dry for a softer, less dramatic application. When applying with a wet brush you can create a very dramatic look. However for those of you who like don’t like dramatic looks, when you apply the neutral shades with a wet brush, it is still very natural looking. you don’t have to worry about having a weird, out-of-place streak of brown eyeshadow on your eyes. To apply wet all you have to do is spray your brush with any makeup spray, or dip your brush in water. When I tested these pigments I actually just dipped my brushes in water and applied them. They went on smooth and very pigmented. And unlike eyeshadows that are very pigments, you can actually blend the pigment powders out quite easily. when I applied the pigments with a wet brush there was little to no fall out on my face, even when applying the black eyeshadow. I still would be very cautious of fall out because it is a loose pigment. I also tried to use these pigments as eyeliner but It didn’t really work out. I’m not sure if it was the brushes I was using, or if it was actually the products itself. It’s just worth noting that I couldn’t get a good line for eyeliner out of these pigments.

DSC_0732
If you can get past the bad mascara application this is the Younique Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powder applied with a dry brush. Eyeliner is a Tarte felt tip liner

If you do not want to apply the Younique Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powders wet, don’t worry. They look just fine when you apply them with a dry brush. You can create a softer, less dramatic look using this technique. You will still get the pigmentation of the color you are applying, it just wont be as concentrated in the spot you are applying it. It’s already really easy to blend, but it take even less time this way. They are still smooth to apply as well. You can definitely build the pigments up to have a more concentrated color, but it still will look very natural. Since this is a loose pigment and you are applying the products dry, you do need to take the proper steps to prevent the fall out from sticking to your face.

Preventing fallout from sticking to your face is fairly simple. You can use these tips when you are applying the products wet and dry to prevent too much fall out. You can take a tissue paper and hold it under you eye to catch the fall out, buy the fall out guards that sticks to your face, or apply a loose translucent powder under your eyes and wipe away the excess when finished with your eyes. When you are applying both wet or dry, make sure to tap off the excess product in the bag or pot you grabbed the product out of. This helps you save product and prevent too much fall out.

Whether you apply these pigments wet or dry they do actually stay throughout the day. I noticed minor fading, but they did not crease. But I did not try these pigments without a primer. That’s only because I always wear eyeshadow with an eyeshadow primer.

I actually really like this product and for $12.50 USD per pot I would actually purchase these myself! They are a bit more expensive than your Drug Store products, but are less expensive than your luxury pigments and even single eyeshadows. There is also an option to buy four of the pigments for $45.00 USD. Which is $53.00 USD cheaper than just buying single pots.  For how well they hold up throughout the day and how long the product has lasted me I think it’s definitely worth the money and once I run out of the samples, I will definitely purchase some!

If you are interesting in the Younique Moodstruck Mineral Pigment Powders you can go over to the website and check out all the colors they have available: https://www.youniqueproducts.com/maeghanp/products/view/US-21000-00. You can also go here and purchase 4 of the pigments for $45.00 USD: https://www.youniqueproducts.com/maeghanp/products/view/US-31001-01  Or you can just take a gander on the website. If you have any questions about the Younique business, other Younique products, or just want to contact Maeghan personally, you can contact her at n.maeghan@gmail.com. You can also follow her on Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/maeghpie and Instagram: https://instagram.com/maeghpie. You can also like her facebook page as well: www.facebook.com/lovemakeuplovelife. Maeghan is super great and super nice. So don’t be afraid to contact her!

Follow you dreams and never give up!

Blog


**Disclaimer: These products were sent to me for review purposes. I was not paid or compensated in any way. All opinions are my own with the utmost honesty. These have been discontinued**
3 thoughts on “Younique Moodstruck Minerals Pigment Powders Review

Leave a Comment

