Beauty · Makeup

I Have No Idea What To Call This Makeup Look… Sooo.. Here is a Makeup Tutorial!

Hello Beautiful Butterflies!!

First of all, I just want to apologize for not posting as much this past month. I have been busy packing and making my RunDisney running costume, which I am almost finished with! I will make sure to share with you guys my finished costume! It’s turning out super cute! Anyways, on to the main focus of the post!

As you could probably tell from the title of this post, I had no idea what to call this look. This wasn’t even a planned look. I was originally trying to make a Monster’s Inc. Sully inspired look but when I was “finished” with that look, I looked like I just came out of Clown College.. It was not pretty! So I took off my makeup and tried again.. and this is what I came up with:

Purple Blue makeup tutorial5

At first I wasn’t thinking about making a tutorial, but a lot of people on Instagram liked the look. I was pretty shocked because I failed to complete the look I was going for. But I kind of do like how it came out, so I figured I would do a makeup tutorial for you guys!

* * * * * * * *

Purple Blue makeup tutorial

The first thing you need to do is prime those eyelids of yours. The next thing is to get a purple eyeshadow and put it in the crease of your eye. It should be a relatively darker purple but not too dark that it looks black. You don’t have to worry about blending too much in this step since it is the first step.

 

Purple Blue makeup tutorial2

Now you need to take a Blue-ish, Purple-ish, Indigo eyeshadow and put it on the lid. Make sure you do not take this all the way to the inner corner. Because it will be hard to apply the lighter shade over the Indigo Shadow.

 

Purple Blue makeup tutorial3

After you applied the Indigo shade, you will want to take a caramel eyeshadow to blend out the Purple shadow in the crease. Make sure it’s not too orange and not too brown. It has to be the perfect caramel color for it to actually work out. I actually need this color to warm this entire look up because it was too cool toned for my taste. Seeing how we are jumping everywhere on the eye, we are going to go to the inner corner and use a light, shimmery blue eyeshadow. make sure you are blending this shadow in as best as you can. You don’t want any harsh lines for this look. We are going to jump back up to the brow bone to blend out the caramel color. Just take a shadow or some foundation powder that is close to your skin tone to blend it out. Once you are finished with the top lid, clean your under eye area. Believe me, it will probably get a bit messy with fall out.

Purple Blue makeup tutorial4

This step is optional, do what you are comfortable with and what works best for your eye shape. using a thin, straight brush I applied the same purple that was in my crease on the outer part of my lower lash line. Using the same kind of brush, I also applied the light, shimmery blue shadow on the inner part of my lash line. To take it a step further I took the caramel shadow on a small blending brush, to blend out the purple a little bit.

Purple Blue makeup tutorial6

Finally, take a liquid eyeliner or a liquid eyeliner pen and line your eye. Take a regular pencil eyeliner to line the waterline of your eye. Both the Liquid eyeliner and pencil eyeliner should be in black. This is completely optional, but you can also set the eyeliner with a black eyeshadow. Now just throw on your favorite mascara, do your brows, and look to see if you need to touch up any areas. And you should be good to go.

***Note: Use a light hand when applying blue eyeshadows, or any eyeshadows in general. It is easier to build up product than take product away. Blue is also very hard to work with. if it is streaky, is too clownish, or just doesn’t look perfect; don’t give up on the look. Just restart and try again. Don’t forget to blend!! Also, I did not include names of the eyeshadows I used because the products I used are nameless. I tried to describe the eyeshadow I applied to the best of my ability.***

* * * * * * * *

It was pretty fun to do since I was just messing around with eyeshadows. There are a couple of things that I have learned from this:

1. It’s super hard to work with blue eyeshadows without looking like a clown.
2. Great things can come from just trying something new.

I really hope you guys liked this little tutorial! Thank you so much for reading as well!!

Follow your dreams and never give up!!

Blog

Leave a Comment

