Life · lifestyle

Prom Night Tips (From My Experiences)

Hello Beautiful Butterflies!

For the past 4 years, me and my best friend have went to DEB, Geneology, Dillard’s, Belk, and any other stores that carry prom dresses to try them on. Even though at my high school only Juniors and Seniors were actually allowed to go, we still looked and tried on prom dresses. When we were Freshmen and Sophomores, we would go to each other’s houses and literally go to Google and search “Prom Dresses -insert year here-” until 3 o’clock in the morning. We would also make plans to go to the malls and Towne Centre to actually physically try the dresses on and “plan out” our prom evening that we wouldn’t be able to do. And then we would start talking about wedding stuff. You know, typical girl things.

Anyways, I am going to share my prom experiences with you. Along with my tips on how to make the day run as smooth as possible.

* * * * * * * *

Junior year came and me and my best friend were so excited about it. That’s all we could really talk about was how excited we were for prom. We were so excited we were looking at dresses in October… Yeah, you can say we were pretty obsessed. By the time February came along we started to plan out everything. My best friend was making her dress, and I bought my dress at DEB’s and we decided that we would go with a big group of people. We all knew 532873_648544141837905_663009467_n(2)each other or at least knew of one another, so we didn’t think it would be a big problem. So me and my best friend wanted to sit everyone down to actually talk about what everyone wanted to do. Everyone kept putting it off because “It was still so far away and we had more than enough time to plan.” The first time, I kinda understood. It was like two months away. I am the type of person that likes to plan two months in advance for anything. So being the person I am, I told my other friend to tell everyone in the group to think about it and to let us know. At the time, I was getting rides to school from this person, so I could stay updated that way. The date kept creeping closer and everything was still up in the air. There was something about a Habachi’s grill and afterward a bonfire at my friend’s place. So I conveyed that message to my best friend. I was in charge of making dinner reservations and no one would tell me how many people there would be at the time, so I had to make the reservations super late.

Tip #1: Plan out what you are doing with the entire group. Not just for the group, but for your parents as well. You’re parents will be worried about you from the time you leave your house, to the time you walk through the doors of your house. Create a group text or Facebook message if you have to. Just makeup sure everyone is on the same page the day of prom.

Then the day of prom came, I was so excited. I got up at 9 o’clock in the morning to go to my hair appointment at 11. So I texted my friend and wanted to make sure everyone was on the same page. But she never texted back. I figured she was busy doing stuff for prom as well. So my hair was finished, and I snapchatted the same friend to see about the details for the night, just so everything was clear. She opened it but she didn’t bother to text me back or snap me back, which frustrated me a little.

My best friend and I decided to just take pictures together over at her housing complex and I had a sneaky little photo shoot at the prom2013Boone Hall Plantation (Yes, the same plantation where the Notebook was filmed). The only text I got that day was “Hey, when are you guys coming to dinner. We can’t get in without you guys.” So we arrived at dinner a little bit late, which was fine. I didn’t really fancy the place we ate at. It was an expensive place and it was more of a casual place to go to. I forgot the name but it was a Japanese steak house, where they make the food in front of you. When they cook the shrimp they would toss it to you and you would have to catch it in your mouth. Mind you, we were all dressed up. The food was very good, I just didn’t care for the atmosphere. And then the other people in the group started talking about changing the plans and going bowling. I don’t mind bowling, I actually love bowling. Anytime. Anywhere. But the fact that my best friend and I were not part of the conversation and didn’t have a say in it kinda upset us further.

Tip #2: Make sure everyone agrees on the places to go to eat and after the event and stick with the plan. There is nothing worst than having a big group of people and all of them not knowing what is going on.

Then we get to the actual event. This was probably the best part about the night for me. I never really let loose and dance, but it was prom… I had to! At the beginning we wanted to stay with the group, but they were just running around everywhere and not dancing at all. So my best friend and I decided to just go to the dance floor and dance. We aren’t the best dancers, but we still danced. Everyone tends to stay for just the Prom King and Queen to be announced and then ditch, which is what our group did, besides my best friend and I. We danced until maybe 10-11 o’clock. We weren’t feeling good at all. So we went back to our houses and I went straight to bed.

Tip #3: Don’t leave right after they announce King and Queen. I realize there are after parties and prom houses, but you pay money to go to the event (For my school it was $15-$30 per ticket). And then on top of that, you pay more money for the dresses, appointments, reservations, appointments, etc.prom2013(2)

My Junior prom was a little hectic but fun nonetheless. It’s not that I didn’t like the people in the group (I did like the people), I just like to have things planned out and stick with those plan. I don’t really mind little changes here and there. I just don’t like changing everything drastically at the last-minute unless everyone in the group agrees. It might not be exactly how you want it and you may have to compromise with the group. But at least everyone will have fun that way! And the most important thing is to just have fun!! No matter what happens that night, don’t let anyone ruin it for you!

* * * * * * * *

This was only my tips I learned from Junior year. I will be posting more tips I learned from Senior year and what I did for Senior prom on a separate post. I really hope you enjoyed and if you are going to prom this year: I really hope you have a blast!! Are you going to Prom or any other types of dances? If so, what are your plans? I love hearing about what other people are going to do because some people have some amazing plans!

Follow your dreams and never give up!

Blog

Leave a Comment

