Life · Uncategorized

My RunDisney Expedition Everest Challenge Running Costume Idea

Hello Beautiful Butterflies!!

If you guys remember back in the post On The Sixteenth Day of Christmas… My family and I bought tickets to do the RunDisney Expedition Everest Challenge. I wish I could say with ease, but there were bumps in the road. However, we did get our tickets!

For those of you who do not know what this challenge is, it is a 5k obstacle course run. Then right after you finish the run, you go on a scavenger hunt. Afterwards you get into the after party at Disney’s Animal Kingdom for free and get to ride whatever is open!

We first heard about this race when we were walking around Downtown Disney in Orlando. We went into the running shop and we seen the medal for this race.

Expedition Everest Challenge Medal

Now that we have our tickets,  we are just thinking about costuming! If you haven’t attended a RunDisney race almost everyone is dressed as a Disney character. If they aren’t dressed as one, they are wearing the same colors and prints as that Disney character. When I did the Enchanted 10K and the Princess Half Marathon, I dressed up as Elsa – the amazing snow queen! This year, since I am doing the Expedition Everest Challenge and most people are going to be dressed up as Yetis. I am going to be dressed up as Sully from Monster’s Inc. I have drawn a sketch of what I want to try to make.

DSC_0126 (2)DSC_0125 (2)

Right now my supply list is: Dark and Light Blue Tulle, Purple Spray Paint or Purple Markers, Purple Duct Tape, Some sort of stiff gray fabric for the horns and possibly the tail, Blue ribbon for the head band, and a cheap head band. I already have my running shirt and pants.

I’m not sure if I want to make a tail for the costume or make the tutu at this point because there will be different obstacles in the race.

Every so often, I will make an update post on how I am doing with the running costume and tell you how I did certain things. I will also be posting progress pictures on my Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook pages! So make sure you are following me on any of those pages!

Also if you have any ideas on what I fabric to use for the tail and the horns or a cheap place to buy either, please let me know! I feel like this is going to be a fun adventure between blogging about the costumes, making the costume, and actually doing the race!! Only 55 days to go!! May 2nd, I’m almost ready for you!!!

Follow your dreams and never give up!!

Blog

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit

One thought on “My RunDisney Expedition Everest Challenge Running Costume Idea

Leave a Comment

