Beauty · Makeup

Valentine’s Day Makeup

Hello Beautiful Butterflies!

Valentine’s day is coming up, and I know a lot of people are really excited about it on Facebook. Others aren’t too excited, including me. But you can always show your family how much you love them. Surprise them with some cupcakes, make your parents something, and get your brother a game he has been wanting. You don’t a “special someone” to celebrate with. It’s just nice to do something for your family once in a while.

I remember when I was a Junior in High School, my Spanish 2 teacher made everyone in the class make Valentine cards for our parents. If we didn’t do one, we got a zero for the day. But when I gave the card to my mom, she loved it. You don’t have to spend money. Just make something that you actually put effort into; it’s the thought that counts.

Sorry, I went on a little rant there. Now I am going to get onto the actual post: Valentine’s Day Makeup!

20150120_101725

This look is actually pretty dark, which would be good for date night! I didn’t do a step by step pictures because my skin is really bad at the moment. However, I will try explain how I achieved this look.

I started off by using the original Urban Decay Primer Potion from lashes to my eyebrow and the Maybelline Metal Colour Tattoo in Silver Strike all over my eyelid, as a base for my eyeshadow. After I finished the base, I took Urban Decay’s Psychedelic Sister all over my lid with a regular eyeshadow brush, all over my eyelid and in the crease of my eye. I didn’t want my eye to be just a dark purple, so I took Urban Decay’s Grifter eyeshadow on a large dome brush, to blend the purple and light purple eyeshadows. When I finally finished the blending of the two purples, the eyeshadow still didn’t look complete. So I took a grey from my Sephora Makeup Academy Pallete and lightly dipped it in a matte black (from the same pallete) on a small domed brush. And light-handedly applied this mix to the outer corner of my eyelids, just to darken it up more. I applied Urban Decay’s strip eyeshadow in the inner corner with a lipstick brush and applied a matte white eyeshadow, that I got at Claire’s, on my brow bone. I applied an Esteé Lauder black eyeliner pencil along the upper lash line and tight line with it as well. I applied the darker purple along the bottom lashes, up until the silver inner corner. I used an Urban Decay 24 hour glide-on pencil in Smog in the waterline and just under the lashes as well. I finished the eyes by applying Urban Decay’s Perversion mascara on my lashes.

I applied L’Oréal’s True Match Lumi liquid foundation in Porcelain/Light Ivory with a makeup sponge. I set my foundation with Maybelline  powder foundation. I used Urban Decay’s Fix eyeshadow in the Naked On The Run pallete to contour, I applied right under my cheek bones, side of my nose,  and underneath my chin and jaw. I applied Urban Decay’s  Bronzer a little bit above my contour and Urban Decay’s blush on my cheeks. Both the blush and bronzer I used are in the Naked On The Run pallete.

I finished the look by applying Esteé Lauder’s lipstick in Bois de Rose.

20150120_101833

And there you have it. My Dark Valentine’s Day makeup! Are you excited for Valentine’s day? Do you have any plans? I plan to spend time with my family and watch The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, and Pretty Little Liars.

Follow your dreams and never give up!!

Blog

3 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Makeup

Leave a Comment

