Beauty

Extra Terrestrial Halloween Makeup | Makeup Mondays

image

I’m really excited this halloween season! Every year I want to try to do different halloween makeup ideas. But I never attempt to do my ideas because I didn’t have anywhere to post them. But now that I have a blog, I am going to share some of my ideas!!
I was inspired to do this extra terrestrial look by none other than Katy Perry. It’s not exactly like her makeup in her music video but I kinda liked how it turned out.

Get your makeup brushes ready!

image

The first thing I did for this look was applied some foundation. I applied the Revlon Colorstay liquid foundation (110 Ivory). It’s also important to set your foundation. I used Maybelline’s Dream Matte powder (Cream light 4-5). You don’t have to use these products exactly. Just do your everyday foundation routine. If you have any spots cover them up. Extra terrestrial beings have flawless skin. At least, we are going to say they do. 😉

image

The next thing is the eyebrows. If you want to have Katy Perry’s straight across eyebrows that she has in her E.T. music video, start where your eyebrows begin and draw them straight across. What I did was follow my eyebrows, but made them a little thicker than they actually are. I used a black eye shadow from my Sephora Makeup Academy pallete to fill in my eye brows. If you choose to use eye shadow, make sure you go over them a few times. You can also use a eyeliner pencil which might work better to make everything clean cut.

image

The next thing to do is put dots along your eyes. But don’t just randomly place them. Place them where you want your the black lines to go. I used the Revlon Colorstay gel eyeliner (001 Black). I recommend using a white eyeliner to do these dots. I didn’t have any, so I just used a black gel eyeliner.

image

After you placed your dots with your black or whiye eyeliner, take the same eyeliner and trace a line from point to point. Once you have a line like the picture above you can take a black eyeshadow and  go across the line you just made.

image

Once you traced black eyeshadow along where the eyeliner was, try blending out the black eyeshadow the best you can. Take a regular blending brush to do this.

image

Now that you have the black blended out, try to blend it out more. Take a brown (pictured top, right) and place it along side of the nose and right where the brow starts. Then take a toupe color (pictured top, left) and apply it under the brow and blend the black and the brown. You can use a blending brush for this too.

image

Lets start the eyeliner! like I said said in a past blog post, I suck at winged eyeliner. But remember the dots we placed on our eyes in a previous step? We are going to use the dots as a guide and connect them. I am using my Revlon Colorstay gel eyeliner. Start with the dot near the tear duct, draw a line from the dot to the inner corner of the eye. Repeat this process on the other side of the eye. Make sure you arent flaring the wings that much (like a cat eye). You want the line to stay straight from the corner of your eye.

image

Finish off the eyeliner by connecting each line. Keep the top lid thick and the bottom thinner. Then use a black pencil eyeliner to tightline and waterline your eyes. I didn’t apply any mascara or false lashes. But you can do so, if you want to.

image

I looked up pictures of extra terrestrial makeup to get inspiration. I found some interesting shaped faces and colorful faces as well. I decided to use a black eyeshadow to line where I want my contouring. I took the black eyeshadow a little bit below the top part of my ear and angled it down to the corner of my mouth. The rule for contouring is not to extend it bast the arch of your brow. Well, I broke that rule. I brought it a little farther down. Then for the temples, I went from the top of my ear and brought it to the other end of my eyebrow.

image

I took a contouring brush and used the black eyeshadow where I outlined. But then I took a mexture of the black, toupe, and brown eyeshadows to blend out the colors. Don’t worry if you messed up with this. You want it to be unique.

image

Using a flat foundation brush, I went over the lightest parts of my face and smoothed out any improfections. I used the same foundation and powder as the first step of the tutorial. If you have anything too clean cut use your finger to blend it out.

image

After contouring comes highlighting. I used Glam Eyes by Rimmel London eyeshadow (glam ice) to go over high points on my face. I applied it with a blush brush on the top of my forehead, down my nose, on the tops of my cheeks, and on the top of my chin. Using a thin angled brush I applied this eyeshadow over my brows. I went back the the black, toupe, and brown eyeshadow mixture and applied  it around my chin with a contour brush.

image

Last but not least, I applied a black lipstick that I got with my halloween costume last year. I applied the lipstick on my lips. Since this is a very dark lipstick, I outlined the lipstick with a black pencil eyeliner to make a clean line.
My favorite thing out of this whole look is the lips. The cupid’s bow reminds me of mountains, or maybe thats just in my mind. 😉  I had so much fun making this look! I absolutely love halloween! I cant wait to make more tutorials for halloween! You dont have to use black eyeshadow. You can use whatever color of the rainbow you want to. I recommend having a picture for inspiration though. Thank you for reading this post! Until next time! Follow your dreams, and never give up hope!!
Xoxo,
-A

One thought on “Extra Terrestrial Halloween Makeup | Makeup Mondays

Leave a Comment

